Unicef – Own A Colour

Today I created my own colour.

It is a fantastic shade of light blue that I have named Boo Blue.  I like the fact that when you run the words together they make the word boob. No. I did not grow up. Yes, I have a very juvenile sense of humour.

The reason I have created my own colour is not because I have spent the afternoon at B&Q with the Dulux colour mixing machines, fun though that undoubtedly would be.

It is because I am helping Unicef to raise money to save children’s lives.

I am lucky. I have three healthy children.  Even if I didn’t, and my children were sickly creatures, I live in a first world country with access to free medical care and all the bells and whistles. We have enough to eat. In fact we have more than enough to eat.  We have access to clean, fresh, water, a roof over our heads, and we live in a peaceful society (well, relatively).

The things I worry about in terms of my children’s welfare are first world things.  I never have to worry that they are going to starve, or die because they have an illness that children in a first world country would shake off in a day or two.

I am lucky.  Most of us are.

We don’t have access to all this bounty because we are special or more important than other people. Mostly it is an accident of fate, or geography or birth, and children who are dying because they have the misfortune to be in the wrong place at the wrong time deserve our help.

I like to think that if it were my children starving to death because of a war they did not start, or a famine they could not control, that someone would reach out to them.

There but for the grace of God go we.

All over the world children, who given half a chance would be just like Oscar and Tallulah, and Tilly, or your children, or nieces and nephews, are dying because they lack the basic day to day things we take for granted.

Unicef have come up with a colour chart with over sixteen million shades represented.  They are asking you to pick a shade, name it, and make a donation.  You can donate as little as a pound to secure your colour.  A pound can do an awful lot to save a child’s life.

Unicef is the world’s leading charity for the protection of children and young people.  It operates in over 190 countries over the world.

Help them save a child’s life today. Click on this link and buy yourself a colour.

It will go with your eyes, and it will be good for your soul.

Leave a comment