Filler

Not much to report here at Chez Boo today, and no real inclination for blogging, but I’d had my fill of seeing the last post I wrote staring me in the eye every time I turned on the pc.

I broke the glass in one of my favourite pictures last night while I was packing it.  I had very carefully wrapped it up, and was just congratulating myself on a job well done, when I banged the edge of it against the radiator as I was lifting it up, and the whole thing went ‘CRACK’.

Pooh.

I shall take it to the framers to get them to repair it next week.

In other news, I watched Scott Pilgrim Versus The World on DVD with the kids this afternoon.  I really liked it.  I love Edgar Wright, who directed this, as well as the excellent Hot Fuzz and Sean of the Dead, and I adore Michael Cera, who co-starred in one of my top ten films, Juno, so I had high hopes for it, but there is always room for disappointment. 

Luckily, not today.

I can’t really think how to describe Scott Pilgrim.  It was quirky, funny and deeply odd.  It reminded me of Kick Ass, which I also loved, but not as gory and dark.  It’s sort of Kick Ass lite.

Umm, what else?

I finally got Kate Atkinson’s; ‘Started Early, Took My Dog,’ from the library.  I am very excited to read this, as Sharon has recommended it highly.  It will take a while for me to work my way down the pile to it, but the fact that it is on the pile at all is a rather lovely thing.

We took quite a bit of stuff to the storage unit today.  You can’t really tell when you come back into the house, which is still stuffed to the rafters with our crap, but you can definitely tell when you go to the storage unit.

I have taken down all my pictures in the MOD.  It looks very naked.

Not as naked as a naked mole rat, but fairly naked nonetheless.

In new house news, Jason went to see it for the first time yesterday.  He liked it.

Phew.

Also, when he went over there, he met a load of workmen who were fixing some broken tiles and generally tidying the place up.

That’s a good sign.

We went in to the agent’s office today to hand over large wads of cash and sign various papers.  We get the keys on Tuesday, along with the inventory.  This agent seems much more on the ball. Their inventory has photographs and is detailed.  The one for this house was fairly hopeless, and I ended up sending in twelve pages of things they had missed.  That’s quite a lot of things, right?

So, we get the keys on Tuesday and should be in the new place by Friday, giving us the weekend to scour the MOD and polish it until it shines.

Monday morning we hand the keys back, face the psycho landlady for the last time during the inventory, and then go to a funeral in the afternoon.  I think I will rename it ‘Black Monday’.

10 responses to “Filler

  1. I fell in love with Michael Cera when he played Georg Michael Bluth on “Arrested Development.” Have you seen that tv series?

    • J
      no I haven’t. But apparently they are about to repeat it all on one of our digital channels, so I will definitely check it out.

  2. Lots of luck with the move and hope the funeral is as good as something so sad can be.

  3. If you can on Monday, at some point, close your eyes and whisper to yourself ‘all will be well’……….and then not everything in the day will be black…there will be a sprinkling of hope.

  4. MM and BB went to see Scott Pilgrim last year. MM loved it, BB not so much.

    I always think that despite the obvious sadness there’s usually something to celebrate from the life that has ended when at a funeral. Fond memories and outright belly laughs usually crop up somewhere along the line once the service is over and the reminiscences start, but 5 weeks of anxiety, doctor and hospital visits doesn’t provide much to celebrate sadly. I will be thinking of you all.

    xoxox

  5. Thinking of you – and hope tomorrow goes better than expected. Hugs.

  6. Noreen
    It’s next week, but thank you. xxx

Leave a comment