The Return of the Chaise Longue of Death ™

I know I have mentioned this before but I have very basic dreams of spending at least a day of my life not feeling ill or tired.  Sadly it is not to be today.  It will probably the day I drop down dead, knowing the bitter irony of my life.  So today I am sure to survive, because today I woke up feeling like I should strap two Chaise Longues of Death (TM) onto my feet and use them as roller skates.  I have the headache from yesterday along with a sore throat and a frozen shoulder.  If I were a horse they would have taken me out into the field and humanely shot me through the head by now.  As it is, I soldier on bravely.  Bravely but irritably.

Luckily it was a nursery day today.  I packed Oscar off and scrabbled home like a rat up a drain pipe, into the pjs and onto the sofa.  I had dreams of reading lovely, lovely books.  Instead I was a very good girl and read horrible but necessary books, for the next essay.  I managed to finish the entire of Melvin Burgess’s cheery little novel, Junk.  It’s not nice, not nice at all.  It is however, brilliantly written, and well deserving of the many literary prizes with which it has been sprinkled.  It is not a book I recommend for under fourteens, unless they are very precocious, dealing as it does with abuse, prostititution, homelessness, teenage pregnancy and of course, heroin addiction, and all of the above in a graphic, no holds barred kind of way.  On the other hand it was exquisite, compelling and beautiful, in an incredibly troubling way.  I wouldn’t recommend giving it to your granny to read either, by the way.

I have read it before, many years ago, but had forgotten how amazing it is. I am now re-reading Philip Reeve’s dystopian fantasy ‘Mortal Engines’, set in a future time in which London is a mechanized city, roaming above the smashed remains of a rotten earth, preying on other, smaller cities and stripping them down to ensure its future survival.  Despite its ‘1984’ish overtones it is much more of a rip-roaring adventure story, and the first of a quartet.  I have yet to read the others, but this first foray is not bad at all.  How I’m going to weave heroin addiction and mechanised futuristic cities cannibalising each other together into a harmonious whole is, at the moment, slightly beyond me, but I am sure it will all come together in the end.  No wonder I have a headache.

Other than that I have done not very much at all, opting out of dinner in favour of a trip to the chip shop on the way home from buying Oscar a new pair of trainers (with three children we average a new pair of shoes for one or the other of them at least once a month. It is his turn), and turning for solace to a quite delicious bar of milk chocolate with salted almonds in that the very kind J sent me for passing my driving test.

I am slightly further forward with the M.A.  Jason has agreed to pay for it, bless him.  I have decided I will pay him back for it.  This is something I want to do entirely by myself, just for me.  It seems important.  I just have a few more questions for Roehampton.  I called them today but the help staff were out doing training, so I have e-mailed them.  When I hear from them the application form will go in.  As of September I should be a student again.  I haven’t owned an NUS card for over twenty years.  That will be odd.  I am still not buying a futon, nor Doc Martens, and I am definitely not going shopping at Iceland though.  I am too old for that crap any more, and drinking pints of cider just makes me want to chunder.  It’s going to be champagne and chocolate with salted almonds all the way.  Standards must be maintained.

The children are having an alarming conversation about piddling.  I must go and intervene.  Farewell for now.

7 responses to “The Return of the Chaise Longue of Death ™

  1. Quite right…you keep those standards up girl! I was a mature student a couple of years ago and it was a right old culture shock I can tell you! By the way, I quite like the look of Doc Martens but I’ve never quite plucked up the courage to buy a pair!

  2. Completely Alienne

    You are a student now, Katy and you can get a NUS Extra card as an OU student – it’s very handy. 10% off at Topshop and La Senza for a start – you have no idea how much of my money Lenin and Attila can spend in there. And a discount at the cinema, and when I go swimming. And a student rail card, and they are not even paying me to say this. Apply today!!

    I have been opting out of dinner too. Due to my cooker being disconnected on tuesday night (cos the plumber from no 3 had a parents evening on wednesday so couldn’t do it then) Attila and I had to go to the chippy yesterday. Then he didn’t come round till 7.30 this evening to connect the new one for me (he was out at work I hasten to add) so we had ordered on line from Dominos by the time he arrived!

    Can I share the chaise longue of death please? I have a nasty cold and feel very sorry for myself. I often feel tired but am rarely ill and am not happy about it.

  3. I am not sick but have just got over a week of PMT which culminated in a yesterday in which I could have cried at ANYTHING, but only did a couple of times 🙂
    I am sorry you are sick but happy that you are going back to full time study – really, really exciting.. just try not to think to much about all the hard work and you will be in heaven, LOL!

  4. I think you’re sending lurgies across the internets again because I’ve got a sore throat (too much cackling)and a trapped nerve in my shoulder(too much internet spending).Having an NUS card almost makes all the studying worthwhile.I’ve just had a look at Mortal Engines on Amazon-I think I’ll have to get it.My nerves are twitching already.All your fault again.

  5. Oh I LOVED “Mortal Engines” – and actually if you’re into the whole dystopian teen fiction thang, I’d further recommend “The Knife Of Never Letting Go” by Patrick Ness. Awesome (as the target audience wd say). But back to the point of your post – as I recall (so long ago) NUS cards are fantastically good for cheap cinema tickets – and actually doesn’t having one automatically make you 10 years younger?

  6. I am off to buy two of them new pairs of trainers tomorrow. How fun. I hope the chips were lovely. I hope you’re feeling better.

  7. Mummeeeee
    I used to love Docs and had several pairs, but I am just too bloody old to look like a golf club now. They can be quite comfy though, once you’ve worn them in. I always coveted a bottle green velvet pair. Sigh.

    Alienne
    You mean I’ve been missing out on discounted gear for two years? Gah! I shall rectify it immediately. Yes you may share my Chaise Longue of Death. I will send it over immediately.

    Ros
    It must be the weather for the PMT blues. I had it last week. Hideous. Much sympathy.xxx

    Jenny
    If you like Mortal Engines I’ll send you the others when I’m done if you want?

    Lucy Fishwife
    I have read the Knife of Never Letting Go. I enjoyed it. There is another one now I think? I like your thinking on the ageing process. Perhaps I shall get two and be twenty years younger.

    Ali
    The chips were brilliant. Mainly because I didn’t cook them. I automatically give extra points to anything I didn’t cook myself. Good luck with your trainer purchases.

Leave a comment