Two weeks in

It’s been two weeks (this evening) since my surgery. Yesterday was the first day I woke up without any pain, and today I got myself up, showered myself and got dressed in real clothes. I am now knackered, but I consider this good progress. I have also abandoned the surgical stockings, and if my legs explode you can all tell me off afterwards.

Hormonally things are not ideal. We will not talk about my blood pressure other than to say that it seems to think it’s the renegade master but really it needs to sit on the naughty step and think about what it’s done.

I am very excited about tomorrow, because for the first time since I had a job and two small children, I am having a cleaning lady round. I am about as excited about this as I was about the birth of Oscar, frankly.

It’s not that my lovely people are not looking after me. They absolutely are, but you know, there are things that they just don’t quite do right, and rather than shoot them all in the face because it’s getting on my nerves, I decided a cleaning lady would save my nerves and their lives.

My reading continues apace. I am more knackered than usual today because I stayed up until half past three this morning finishing The Break by Marian Keyes. I love Marian Keyes. I love her books. I love her on social media, and I love the fact that she is just absolutely lovely as a person. I know this because she sent me marvellous things for a raffle I did once to fund raise for Bliss. Also, when I sent her a long, rambling message this year, she replied with absolute grace and patience instead of giving me a thick ear.

So my first recommendation is that you should absolutely read The Break. It was fantastic. It made me laugh. It made me cry. It was serious and funny and thoughtful and even a bit political and I loved every last bit of it. I think this is my favourite of her books, but Watermelon still holds a special place in my heart.

I also read, as an experiment, a Rivers of London Detective Story on Kindle by Ben Aaronovitch. I love Ben Aaronovitch as an author and his Rivers of London series is the best. I stalk him on Twitter to check his daily word count, that’s how committed I am to the series. This particular story was part of a graphic novel series he’s been working on, about the same characters. I am always slightly dubious about graphic novels, because they’re just not my thing usually, but I have found myself warming to them recently and thought I’d give this a go. Unfortunately it really didn’t work for me. It was only part of a story and I didn’t feel engaged enough to give the next part a go. I am really sad about it.

Finally, I read How to Stop Time by Matt Haig. Everyone has been raving about this book, and I couldn’t resist snapping it up. I love his children’s books, and was blown away by his self help book, Reasons to Stay Alive, but I’d never read his fiction for adults, so it seemed like a good time to start. I really enjoyed How to Stop Time. It was an easy, gentle read with an interesting plot line and good characters. It moved me and I found myself engaged, although it wasn’t until after I’d finished with it that I realised elements reminded me of Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire. Not that it was a bad thing, just interesting.

4 responses to “Two weeks in

  1. Awesomesauce! Have ordered Matt Haig’s two books in your blog x

  2. Happy to know about, that you are again living this beautiful life.

  3. watchingthewheels

    Hey Chickeydoodah!
    Been looking for something to read and have just bought Watermelon on Kindle because I can’t be arsed waiting today. Loved Matt Haig’s Reasons to Stay Alive too. Glad you are feeling a bit better and that you’ve got a cleaner coming in – well done, bloody good idea 🙂

  4. You reminded me to order The Break, thank you. Marian Keyes is just the most delightful writer and seems utterly charming as a person.

    I too love the Rivers of London series – but found the graphic novel didn’t hold as much delight for me as the novels.

    I will have to read How to Stop Time, teenage me loved Anne Rice (I was a teenage goth). Thank you for all your recommendations. Glad you’re on the mend.

Leave a Reply

