World Poetry Day

Spring Cleaning

 

de Lord is my shepherd

I shall not want

 

an she scraping

de las crumbs

aff de plate

knowing ants will feed

 

maketh me to lie down

in green pastures

leadeth me beside de still

waters

 

and she han washing clothes

spotless

lifting dem outa de water

drying she han careful slow

pon she apron

 

restoreth my soul

 

she mixing

sugar

water

lime

she filling she favourite jug

de one wid de cool palm pattern

 

yea though I walk

troo de valley of de

shadow of death

 

she opening de fridge

de cowl stapping her breath

for a motion

 

I will fear no evil

 

she put een wah she want

tek out wah she want

shut de door

 

for thou art wid me

thy rod an thy staff

dey comfort me

 

an she looking wid a far eye

pon de picture a de children

side a de almanac

pon de wall

 

surely goodness an mercy

shall follow me

 

she pick up de broom

an she sweeping

 

all de days of my life

 

an she sweeping

 

an I will dwell

in de house of de Lord

 

she sweeping out

sweeping

out

 

shake de broom

in de wind

dus fly

she beat it gains de fence

dus fly

she cup she han

unda de pipe

an she sprinkle water

roun she

stan up

hans akimbo

 

she watching

all de dark spirits

departing wid de dus

 

sunrise in er eyes

 

forever

an ever

 

Jean ‘Binta’ Breeze

10 responses to “World Poetry Day

  1. Love that, thank you

  2. I worked with Jean about 25 yrs ago at Brixton college, she was a very lovely interesting woman – glad her poetry is still making the rounds – thanks for sharing this

  3. Poetry day – must be why My latest poem, which arrived in the night when I was attempting to go back to sleep and found my mind producing these word patterns instead, I asked my mind to remember them for the morning and let me sleep now and it did, Thank you mind.

    STOP, (and start again)

    Stop hating,
    Stop berating,
    Stop baiting.
    Stop scheming,
    Stop screaming,
    Stop spleening.
    Stop your pointless anticipations and cruel machinations
    Stop your repugnant judgements
    Stop your blindness and carefully averted gaze
    Stop your mindless full speed charge into a future which does not look where it is going ahead
    Stop everything –
    just for moment
    just stop
    wait, rest, take a breath
    Start…… to wake up
    Start….. looking deeply
    Start…. opening
    Start.. to be present
    Start.. breathing for your life
    Start to live mindfully
    Start opening your heart and mind to the beauty which is all around you
    Start appreciating all that you have
    Start enjoying your body
    Start accepting your lessons
    Start learning how to open to life and be your very best

  4. Jane Mickelborough

    what a lovely poem, many thanks!

  5. Thank you so much for this, it is wonderful. I hope you are feeling better now, i have been depressed before but nothing like you have been going through. I hope you can see light at the end of the tunnel. Much love.

Leave a Reply

