TMI

I’ve been forced to slow down a bit for the last few days due to the fact that first I thought I was coming down with a cold, then I thought I might have food poisoning, then I thought it was norovirus, now I have no bloody idea.

What I do know is that the cold symptoms are now gone but the stomach upheavals haven’t, and it’s all a bit too medical for my liking. I shall spare you the details but it is safe to say that my life is not exactly glamorous at the moment, although I struggle on bravely.

I have not taken entirely to my bed, although on Wednesday afternoon I had had enough and went to bed at five and stayed there, sulking for quite some time. Since then, I have, in large part tried to stay at home where possible, due to the fact that it is entirely uncertain when I may need to use the facilities, and the thought of being caught short on the hard shoulder of the M1 is the sort of thing I have nightmares about.

I have used the time to read far too many depressing news articles, have a short argument with a Brexiteer who I was so bored by I gave up talking to him, even though he is still persevering by sending me tweets in CAPITAL LETTERS. It’s just no fun baiting him. No fun at all. You know your life has lost a bit of sparkle when you don’t want to poke a stick through the bars of the rabidly unintelligent any more. If I were a parrot I’d probably be plucking my feathers out about now.

The seventy biscuits are nearly gone, and the sad thing is that I have not eaten any, due to aforesaid adventures in stomach bug land. I cooked a tea I didn’t want to eat this evening and managed to massacre it to such an extent that for the first time in years I actually ended up throwing the whole thing in the bin and buying everyone a Chinese takeaway because there was nothing to be saved.

I have become stressed about Christmas shopping, because I am not inspired by anything this year, at least nothing I can afford to buy anyone. The only thing I really want to get is for Tilly, who has asked for ‘A humanitarian revolution’ for Christmas, and I think there’s about as much chance of that as there is of me becoming a Trappist monk.

I have become stressed about still being ill because this coming week is an absolute log jam of things that must and shall be done. I may have to invest in Jason’s idea of a stout cork, some waders and a lot of duct tape if I’m to get through this. If you see me coming, don’t embrace me. It’s all I’m saying.

I have cheered myself up by watching Shirley Valentine with the kids again. We love that film so much it never fails to raise the spirits. I also read Wild by Cheryl Strayed about her adventures hiking 1,100 miles along the Pacific Crest Trail. It made me feel slightly more sanguine about dashing from the sofa to the loo every couple of hours. At least I wasn’t losing my toenails whilst almost stepping on rattlesnakes and worrying about bears. It has only reconfirmed my belief that camping is God’s way of telling you to buy a house.

 

27 responses to “TMI

  1. Hey Katie. Just remember you can’t save the entire world in a day and you can’t save it at all unless you look after yourself. If there are things that you can’t do because you are sick you have to forgive yourself and just not do them. Reach out for the help that you are used to giving to others and people will respond. Despite what the media are hell bent on telling us, the world is full of wonderful, intelligent, caring, helpful people. Look after yourself and I hope you feel better soon. xxx

  2. Get well soon and I like the idea of a humanitarian revolution .

  3. I haven’t ticked ‘like’, because I don’t like the fact that you are ill. It’s beginning to sound as if you should involve a doctor in all this. Have you? Get better soon!

  4. Oh no! Poor you! Get better soon! 😝😝😝

  5. Buscopan is your friend here, and Immodium if it gets really bad. I also personally don’t think all your stress is helping but on that front I’m hoping it is just a stomach bug. Feel better soon.

  6. Poor you, i have also had toilet issues for 7! Days and in desperation yesterday I bought some Enterosgel from Boots and it seems to have done the trick. No idea how but might be worth a try. Get well soon xx

  7. Oh dear! That sounds SO not fun! Hope you’re back to normal ASAP!

  8. Oh god, poor you. However, you even manage to write an entertaining blog about “the trots” πŸ˜‚

  9. Sounds like you have nitro virus, which can consist of diarrhoea and projectile vomiting. I had it once, it will run its course, not too long. I hope you feel better soon. Love your posts.

  10. nice

    On Mon, Nov 28, 2016 at 2:50 AM, Katyboo1’s Weblog wrote:

    > katyboo1 posted: “I’ve been forced to slow down a bit for the last few > days due to the fact that first I thought I was coming down with a cold, > then I thought I might have food poisoning, then I thought it was > norovirus, now I have no bloody idea. What I do know is that t” >

  11. Sorry to hear you are ill – if you are in reading mode you might like this longish essay I recently came across – or maybe you have already. I’m not pushing it to make any point, I was as disgusted over you over Brexit, but I found it to be very thought provoking and well written, if a tad depressing by the end (sorry!). It was written pre May and Trump, back in July.
    https://paularbair.wordpress.com/2016/07/05/brexit-the-populist-surge-and-the-crisis-of-complexity/

  12. Feel better soon, lovely girl. Stay away from bears xx

  13. So sorry to hear you have been suffering.
    I have learnt from experience you can battle through most ailments, however debilitating, if absolutely necessary. Delhi belly is the exception -the need to be never more than 10 feet away from a toilet is impossible to get around. I admit I have never tried the cork/gaffer tape/waders scenario though, you may be on to something.

    Who was it said ‘a woman who is bored of baiting brexiters, is bored of life?’ or words to that effect (I think it might be the ubiquitous Samuel Johnson).

    If we all club together do you think we might be able to get Tilly a ‘humanitarian revolution’ for Christmas? We could start by guaranteeing that everyone had somewhere to live and enough food for the festive season and go from there – ‘you may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one…’ (John Lennon of course) We need more Tillys and less Theresas in 2017.

    Get well soon Xxx

    • We do need more Tilly’s! Just watched Sophie Walker’s leadership speech from WEP. Amazing and inspirational. That humanitarian revolution might happen yet! x

  14. Oh dear, sorry you’re ill. Even sorrier, as I have a cold and have been aware of something odd going on in the stomach region all afternoon. Lordy, lordy Katy, I hope this isn’t what you’ve got…

    I am as one with you on the camping thing. If God meant us to camp, we’d all have been born with tent-like umbrella contraptions that rose like periscopes out of our heads at the touch of a button.

    Shame you missed out on the biscuits.

Leave a Reply

