The Twats of Twitter

It’s been a funny old week on Twitter.

I very rarely fall out with people on Twitter, despite what people generally say about it being a hot bed of dissent and people ranting at each other.

This is unusual, given that I am an A* ranter with letters after my name. Mostly on Twitter I chat to very nice people, and debate with people who are tolerant enough to accept that a difference of opinion about something can be discussed without people dragging each other through the mud and pulling each other’s hair. I am pretty proud of my Twitter crowd.

This week though, has been the week of discontent. You may remember I had a spat with someone over the SATs strikes earlier in the week which resulted in me being blocked simply for asking questions that someone else couldn’t answer without hurling insults.

This morning I woke up to a Tweet that demanded I be ashamed.

Yesterday was polling day for much of the country, including the hotly contested seat of Mayor of London. The Women’s Equality Party were out and about in force, asking voters to give 50% of their votes to WE. I supported them, even though I could not vote in the election myself, as I am not a Londoner, by re-tweeting what I could and generally shouting: ‘Power to the People’.

This morning, one of my supportive Tweets came back with a message from someone, saying that I should be ashamed to support them, as the WE party is London-centric and only appeals to middle class women.

I did of course mention that they would be London centric at the moment, given that the London mayoral elections are arguably the most important ones being contested at the moment.

I also pointed out that they have fundraised enough money to put a WE candidate in every constituency when the general election happens. Not only that but they are offering bursaries and help with child care for any women who want to consider standing for election.

I suggested that it was actually more shameful to not know this than to start telling strangers they should be ashamed of themselves.

I said it was even more shameful that this person (a woman, which I found most depressing of all), did not know that WE policies are about ending the pay gap within my life time, putting an end to domestic abuse and violence against women, and focusing on all areas for all women in all walks of life where women get a bum deal, as well as ensuring equality for ALL people, regardless of gender. They are nationally focused policies.

The person responded by saying it wasn’t her fault, that she had seen the publicity and if they didn’t make it clear it wasn’t up to her to find out.

This is where I got really cross. By all means have different views from me. By all means take those views and air them in public, but don’t blame other people because you actually don’t know what you’re talking about and you could find out very easily, but you didn’t bother because you thought you’d just shout at a random stranger on Twitter about something it turns out you are 100% inaccurate about.

At this point, when I suggested that a person who was in a position to vote on matters that would literally affect their life going forward for at least the next five years might actually take it upon themselves to do some research on the parties they were going to vote for, she accused me of being patronising and rude.

Because it isn’t patronising and rude to try and publicly shame someone else on Twitter, and then try to slide the blame onto other people when you are caught red handed being completely pig ignorant.

Apparently that’s not rude at all.

 

Leave a Reply

