Such Fun

January was a bit of a fallow month for me. I think I was still hung over from the after effects of the entirety of 2014 and the Christmas season in particular. Although I was going through the motions in January I found that my va va voom had va va went.

February, it seems, is my month to grasp the nettle and get excited about the coming year. I have decided to do some stuff this year that is most pleasing and a little bit scary, but in a good way.

Here are some of the things I have lined up:

Firstly, I am going to register for the Comic Relief Gallopathon tomorrow. It takes place on Hampstead Heath on Saturday March 7th at 1.00 p.m. If you are up for it, you could meet me there, or just sponsor me, or just sing the theme tune from Black Beauty in the background. If you want to do it but can’t get to Hampstead Heath, you can register and gallop wherever you please.

You do not need a horse. You just need a pretend horse. I shall spend the weeks between registering and attending, fine tuning the details of my pretend horse into a thoroughly tricked out steed.

I am taking the children, and my friend Nicki and her children are coming too, and anyone else I can coerce into it in the meantime. It should be brilliant fun.

Secondly I have decided that I want to try glamping. I am not sure if I will like it at all, so I am merely dipping my toe in the water. I have asked that my birthday present from Jason this year be a weekend of glamping. I have a strange compulsion to do this and I’m not entirely sure why, but I’m going to give it a whirl. I have been looking at some of the glamps on this site, and being very impressed.

I was going to put this as my thirdly, which is going on a sponsored Zombie Walk in Birmingham in aid of Birmingham Children’s Hospital. It’s a fantastic cause. They were amazing when Tallulah had a fit, and their care was second to none. Sadly I cannot go on this day as I am already doing something else, but I think Jason and the children are going to do it. I am a teeny bit jealous. My consolation is that there will be other zombie walks. All is not lost.

Fourthly some of my excellent theatre trips are now confirmed. Not only do I get to see Benedict Cumberbatch being Hamlet in September, I am also going to see Damien Lewis in American Buffalo, Rory Kinnear in the Trial and my first Matthew Bourne ballet, Car Man, along with many other things.

Fifthly, I have a date to see the Alexander McQueen retrospective at the V&A with my friend Gina. We also intend to eat a stupendous lunch, and possibly drink some excellent wine too.

I’m sure there will be other, utterly amazing things in store for this year, but that will keep me going for now.

What do you have planned?

2 responses to “Such Fun

  1. Light Shining Over Buckinghamshire at the National. I CANNOT WAIT!!!

  2. I think Andrea and I are seeing that too!

Leave a Reply

