In which progress can be said to have been made

I have eaten bagels. This is a good thing.

I have drunk a great deal of very strong coffee. Some may think that this is not a good thing. I do not agree.

I am about to go and see my mum and go and explore some of the treasure she bought home with her yesterday. This is also a good thing.

Rajasthani lamb curry courtesy of Anjum with the inevitable tweaks from me is bubbling away in the slow cooker, making the house smell warm and spicy. Good thing.

I have nearly finished reading The End of Mr. Y by Scarlett Thomas. I have been reading this book on and off for about two years. I have heard nothing but good things about it. I am not enjoying it at all. The good thing is that it is nearly finished. Go me.

I remembered why I like Pinterest. It is very soothing when your brain is full of stuff and you can’t settle to things and you just want to sit down and not be thinking of sad/angry/nasty things. Good.

I have bought some rhubarb. This is always cheering. I am rhubarb’s number one fan. Anjum suggests poaching it in pomegranate juice and eating it with Greek yoghurt and pistachios. I am going to try it. The thought of it pleases me. I am praying that it tastes as nice as my mind thinks it will.

I have squirrelled away a bit more Christmas shopping. I have by no means reached a point where I am feeling sanguine about it. On the other hand I am feeling less haunted by it.

My ears hurt less today. My throat feels like it has been gently sandpapered in the night. I accuse Derek.

On the whole I am slightly less sad than yesterday.

Result.

2 responses to “In which progress can be said to have been made

  1. Onward and upward!

  2. Quite so. x

Leave a Reply

