Sickeningly good and all that.

It has been a ridiculous week, in which I have barely been able to put one foot in front of the other, and yet have been stupidly busy.

Nothing was very exciting. I have exactly zero things to report.

It is one of those weeks I will be glad to see the back of, the chief benefit of which has been that I have survived it, and managed to keep the household ticking over in some semblance of order.

This morning it all caught up with me and I woke up with a grindingly miserable migraine, the first I have had for quite some time. It was not bad enough to keep me bed bound, which was good. It was bad enough that I spent a wretched breakfast time trying to make food for other people whilst fervently praying I would not vomit on anyone.

It was Oscar’s class assembly today, and he had a starring role. Sadly, I knew that sitting in an over heated school hall for forty minutes would be the thing guaranteed to push me over the edge, and he had to make his debut without me.

I have stuck a tenner in the therapy jar.

As it was, for the first time since Oscar was a baby, I went to school wearing my pyjamas, with Tilly’s long winter coat buttoned up over them, my UGGS on, and a hot water bottle clamped to my face.

My hair was wild. My glasses were smeared and the fact that I had wrapped the hot water bottle in a Penguin ‘Room of One’s Own’  Virginia Woolf homage tea towel did not make me look any less of a hobo.

I am now the lady with pink hair and tortoise, who occasionally rocks up to school looking like an inebriated tramp.

Make of it what you will.

I was too ill to care, frankly, and just very, very grateful that I made it there and back without vomiting into someone’s flower bed.

I have spent most of the day dozing, and or existing under the curse of a persistent and throbbing head pain, grinding down into my molars and making me want to rip my own face off.

Despite this I have cooked a frankly magnificent dinner, baked a pavlova and a Victoria sponge, overseen homework, delivered child to play date, given a literacy lesson, entertained guests, packed teenagers off to Zumba, had a business meeting and am keeping up with the laundry.

I am a fecking paragon of virtue.

Gah.

2 responses to “Sickeningly good and all that.

  1. I was getting really anxious that there was no blog, ergo no Katy. See how you condition us? Sorry you’re not feeling at your best, but relieved that you’re still managing to keep the home fires a burnin’. mm

  2. I don’t know how you manage to function when you are so unwell, you are a martyr! Well soon.

Leave a Reply

