London Bound

I have knitting news to come, which I am sure you are all agog to hear. I just want to finish a project first before I astound you all.

Or something.

In the meantime, let me tell you about our impending holiday. I am SO excited.

We are off to London on Friday. We are staying in a cottage in Highgate Woods. It looks lovely. Please let it be lovely.

I have spent most of today organising who we are going to see, and raiding Time Out for things we are going to do, and pre booking as much stuff as possible to make life easy for us when we get there.

Squee!

Here’s the itinerary so far.

We arrive on Friday evening, and I had news that Noel Fielding was playing some warm up gigs for his tour at the Jackson’s Lane Arts Centre just down the road from where we are staying. I have tried desperately for tickets for this. Our entire family are obsessed by The Mighty Boosh. Sadly they are sold out, but I am first on the waiting list. I do not mean to wish anyone ill, but if five people who are going could see their way into perhaps developing a non life threatening illness that would allow us to go and them to be well almost immediately afterwards, I would be most grateful. A long shot, I know, but I’m putting it out there just in case.

On Saturday we are going to take Jason on a tour of the National Theatre on the South Bank. We’ve all been before but we thought he might be interested, and it’s always good fun. In the afternoon we are going to a pop up cinema on the roof of the National to eat hot dogs and pop corn and see the NT Live version of London Assurance, which is excellent and very funny. The cinema only seats fifty people, so it should be very cool.

The rest of the day we will spend mucking around on the South Bank. The children always like to go into the Disappearing Rooms fountain near the Hayward Gallery, so I must pack dry clothes and towels. There are huge slides there this year too, which I am sure we will find time to whizz down. And the beach. And the skate park, and the carousel. And then there’s the food market at the back of the South Bank, which is also fabulous, if we don’t get waylaid by the great food at the BFI restaurant.

On Sunday we are going to Eltham Palace out near Greenwich. It’s somewhere I’ve wanted to go for years. It has a lemur room! How can you not go and see a lemur room? Our evening will be spent going on a Dr. Who walking tour of London, because we are unashamed nerds. Huzzah!

On Monday we are going to drag Jason to The Breakfast Club (probably the Soho branch), for a stack of American pancakes in heart attack inducing quantities for breakfast. We are then going to the Cabinet War Rooms to be tourists. In the afternoon we are hooking up with our friend Gavin who is an author and is cool enough to be spending the weekend signing autographs and sitting on writer’s panels at a Sci Fi Fantasy convention at Olympia, but who is going to take time out from being cool to hang out with us.

On Tuesday we wave goodbye to Jason, which we are very sad about. We are going to be very busy that day, to take our minds off the fact he won’t be with us. We are exploring Little Venice in the morning. In the afternoon we are schlepping over to Bermondsey, hopefully to see the Gilbert and George retrospective at White Cube, and do some wandering around. In the evening we are off to see Jeeves and Wooster: Perfect Nonsense, at the Duke of Yorks. I have heard good things. I wish I had seen it with Mark Heap in, but John Gordon Sinclair will do at a push.

On Wednesday we are meeting our friends Claire and Erin at the Bethnal Green Museum of Childhood. They have a Jacqueline Wilson exhibition which will please Tallulah no end. I am more interested in the diaries exhibition they have on. I love nosing through a good diary.

On Thursday we are meeting our friends Keith and Noreen, and going to The Museum of London in Docklands. We will undoubtedly find somewhere wonderful to eat. We do a lot of magnificent eating when we are with Keith and Noreen. We are hearty trenchermen one and all.

On Friday we are meeting our friend Gina and heading off to Tate Britain to see the exhibition of Folk Art. I am really excited about this. It has been getting stupendous reviews, and I didn’t think I’d have time to see it, because it closes very soon. We’ve just managed to squeak it in at the last moment.

On the back burner, if we have time, I have plans to go to the Tove Jansson exhibition at the ICA, BARTS pathology museum, the Jean Paul Gaultier retrospective at the Barbican, the Disobedient Objects exhibition at the V&A, the comics exhibition at the British Library and the Virginia Woolf exhibition at the National Portrait gallery.

And fit in a lot of restaurant eating. A LOT.

I will, I am aware, only be able to do this if part of the Dr. Who tour involves giving us our own personal TARDIS.

A girl can dream.

Leave a Reply

