Wonky

It was Roald Dahl Day at school yesterday.

There were some amazing costumes.  My particular favourite amongst the ones the children wore was a teeny, weeny child who arrived for his very first day at school ever, dressed as one of the squirrels from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

He looked amazing.

Tallulah went as Aunt Spiker and looked suitably spindly and spider like. We stuck knitting needles in her bun to make her look extra mad, and it worked beautifully.

Oscar went as Mike Teavee from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  Apparently I let him down badly by failing to buy him a holster and two six shooters, but he coped admirably despite my uselessness.

I went as Willie Wonka.

530529_10151661873735945_1845235242_n

I am cheating a bit with this outfit to be honest.

I am getting more and more into the idea of Steampunk as a more interesting, well corseted version of my old Goth/Indie style of yore, and am beginning to get a few things together for a possible foray into the genre as the next part of my growing old disgracefully.

I am not usually thrilled about dressing up clothes if I’m honest. I don’t really like costume parties etc and avoid them wherever possible.

This is not because I don’t like dressing up. It’s usually because I cannot find anything I want to dress up as.

Until I realised I could be a Steampunk Willy Wonka, and use the outfit as a test case for how comfortable I was wandering about in that kind of gear all day.

Apart from the fact that my hat was a bit pinchy, it was great.  So great that when we got home and Jason said he was taking us out shopping and then for dinner, I didn’t bother to get changed.

Which is why if you were in Fosse Park Sainsbury’s this evening around six o’clock you’d have seen me:

557129_10151661874535945_1398137501_n

Looking a lot like this.

9 responses to “Wonky

  1. hmmm, not sure you would call dressing up convincingly as Willy Wonka from your own wardrobe cunning, or concerning.
    Still, it’s a pretty cool effect all told.

  2. In fact, you look more like Willy Wonka than either Gene Wilder OR Johnny Depp.
    Well done.

  3. diane owenomalley

    Fab x

    Sent from my HTC

  4. Oo-er, Missus! You look fab and I love your hair colour. Those boots are sensational too.

  5. love it, love it… so jealous of your coat and hat…

  6. What a great look! love the hair colour too. x

Leave a Reply

