London – some blurry pictures wot I took

I’ve finally gotten round to uploading all my London photos.

IMG_0819

There are rather a lot of them, and I have posted loads of Facebook already so I can scratch the itch that is boring the pants off of everyone with your holiday snaps.

Look, even Oscar is bored, and he was in the pictures.

You can have the edited highlights.

IMG_0811

I saw this on the road between Stockwell and Clapham. I would love to rent some deep tunnels, but sadly nobody else wanted to come in with me on the scheme, and as I only have 27 pence in old money to my name, it is not to be.

IMG_0869

 

Here is an elephant shrew in a jar, from the Grant Museum of Zoology. I have a bit of a thing about shrews.  I wanted to adopt this one, but someone else had beaten me to it. Curses! 

IMG_0855

 

Look at this cool decanter from the Wellcome Collection shop. It would be excellent to have this and fill it with Vimto.

IMG_0879

 

Serious Egyptian bling from the Petrie Museum.

IMG_0900

 

Impromptu green houses on the South Bank. Lots of them were full of edible plants. The beans were coming on nicely. Obviously the river air suits them.

IMG_0921

 

This sign was the best thing about the Beano Town exhibition. And it was outside.  Peaked too early.

IMG_1030

 

This was at Hackney City Farm. You can see the chickens scattered about. Oscar was leaning over the fence watching them and said: ‘I don’t understand why chickens need to learn English.’

It was a moment of poetry.

IMG_0960

 

This is the amazing view from the park at the Horniman museum. You can just see the Shard poking up in the distance. 

IMG_1044

 

This man had the very fierce and serious job of selling peacock feathers at Brick Lane. The first rule of peacock feather selling – never smile at your customers. The second rule of peacock feather selling – scowl like billio at everyone.

IMG_1065

 

Excellent red velvet cake from Local Hero on Fulham High Street. 

IMG_1098

 

Tilly bothering an owl at Fulham Palace.

IMG_1111

 

We like dead things…

The old operating theatre – St Thomas’s.

IMG_1149

 

Look! My coffee cup has Pac Man and fried eggs on it! 

IMG_1178

 

The reading room at the Geffrye Museum.

IMG_1209

 

Tiny trees cut out of old paper bags at the Saatchi gallery.

IMG_1231

 

This teeny monkey at Battersea Park Zoo looks like it has an extra limb in this photo. I tried to entice it into my bag but it wouldn’t come with me. 

IMG_1246

 

An explosion of ribbons and feathers at V. V. Rouleaux. Goodness I love that shop.

IMG_1157

 

I leave you with a magnificent pictorial hymn to the finest pancakes I’ve had since we visited Canada.

Mmmmmmmmm…

 

Leave a Reply

